my pride and joy

November 7, 2007

this is my latest pride and joy. i tried my hand at making a fondant cake. i have made a few “frosting” cakes, but have always liked the look of fondant cakes. my brother got married in april and my sister-in-law asked me to make a cake for her bridal shower. here are a few pictures:

the cake is boxed betty crocker or duncan hines, or whatever.

Layering the Cake

the filling was a barefoot contessa recipe for chocolate mousse. the icing (you need icing under fondant to “glue it to the cake”) is Wilton boxed icing (you can use canned frosing from the grocery store).

Iced Cake

the fondant is Wilton’s Ready-To-Use White Rolled Fondant (from a box!) (http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?sku=710-2076&killnav=1) (soooo easy)!!

Fondant Cake

i bought the flowers from Wendy Kromer’s site (http://www.wendykromer.com/shop/index.php) for $28.

Sugar Paste Dogwood Flowers

and the branches are pre-made, pre-colored icing in a tube from our local super market. gotta love it!

Final Product

One Response to “my pride and joy”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Wow, you did a great job for a first timer! 🙂


Leave a comment